About Me

I love needle craft. I began my obsession with design and fiber art when I was very young, tracing out designs on graph paper, crafting tiny clothing items for my Barbie dolls. I was taught to crochet by a good friend of mine when I was 12 years old, and must have made dozens of basic scarves and hats that I gave away to family and friends as gifts. In high school, I used to dream about being a fashion designer, and crafted my own unique clothing items from fabrics I found at local thrift shops. I married my best friend at the age of 18, and through this I was fortunate enough to join a crafting family, and was taught the art of knitting by my mother and sister in-laws in 2009. Since then, I have continued to learn and began to combine my love for design with the addictive art that I have such a hard time setting down. “Just one more row…”

I always have a project with me wherever I go, and I often find myself wandering into yarn shops and buying yet another skein of to-die-for yarn, despite the fact that I have an already overflowing stash of yarn in my craft room at home. Most of my creations are freeform, as I would start by calculating out the math for what I wanted the end product to look like, and let my needles lead and flow into what I was picturing in my head.

Knitting in public attracts quite a bit of attention, and I began to have several fellow crafters asking me which pattern I used for some of my knitting projects. I would get so excited to share my ideas that I would attempt to scribble out some notes and show them what I did. I love to teach others the joy of needlecraft, and always jump on the opportunity to share! So after so many requests, I decided to start saving my designs in a format that would be easy to understand for both beginners and accomplished crafters alike.

ModMoxy on Etsy and Ravelry is my pattern sharing platform, and I am always eager to help others perfect their craft. I am inspired by timeless silhouettes, and my personal aesthetic leans to modern minimalism. I also love texture and creating patterns that create a unique visual interest even in the simplest pieces. I post new patterns as often as I can, and I am always here to help!

Thanks for supporting ModMoxy! And please tag and share your creations, I would love to see them!

Leave a Reply

